Uncategorized

Why am I here?

…is probably what you are wondering right now. If you’re not obligated to support me because I am your spawn (love you ma!), or one of my wonderful friends who puts up with my rants on a regular basis, I have no f-ing idea. But I hope you enjoy your visit, and feel free to leave a comment with your goals/bucket lists, I’d love to hear them!

A few years ago I read an article where a woman posted a list of 50 things she would like to accomplish before she turned 50. Since I am nowhere near 50 and need short deadlines to be productive I created a list of 25 things to accomplish before I turned 25. *spoiler alert* I didn’t finish it. But I did do a lot of sweet things.

Here’s a few things that I DID accomplish:

1.  crochet a scarf

an infinity scarf to be specific. I followed a couple youtube videos like this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWw8DtvnxRg it was quite simple. It helped that the power was out for 10 days thanks to Hurricane Sandy (that bitch) so I had nothing else to do.

infinity-scarf-1

**pretend a picture of my scarf is here, I can’t find it at the moment**

2. practice my japanese (I even went to visit!)

Ok, this is kind of cheating. I minored in Japanese in college, so it was kind of a given. But I wanted to practice in a real life situation, outside the classroom… and not just ordering sushi. So I went to Japan and talked to people there. I think they were impressed, or at least amused.

DSC00214

(Me in Japan with American and Japanese friends)

3. get a big-girl job (something needs to fund all of my endeavors)

job

Applied for 100, heard back from 1, and it happened to be *the one*. I work with little thugs, but its not so bad.

4. become a certified personal trainer

This will be a recurring topic, I will not bore you with details at the moment. I love getting people excited about exercise, its fun.

nasm-logo1

5. read the bible

Bible.black.cover.old.style8

This will also probably be discussed in its own post. I am not overly religious, nor do I have any intentions of pushing my beliefs on others, but I strongly believe that everyone in today’s society should have- at minimum- a basic understanding of world religions. We are considered a “global community” these days, and if you like to travel (like I do) and don’t want to look like a total dumbass, you should probably be able to discuss religion intelligently. I started with reading the bible because I was raised Catholic. I would also like to study the Quran, Torah, and other religions, at least to get a basic understanding. Enough to be able to respect other cultures and understand their point of view.

What are some the goals you have set for yourself?

One thought on “Why am I here?

  1. 1. MBA – Done!
    2. Job – Yeah, not so much.
    3. Write a book – Done!
    4. Get that book published – Yeah, not so much.
    5. Get PT certified – working on it. CSCS text should be here Friday the latest. So excited to dig in. Already started skimming through the NASM book. I’m thinking about getting CISSN certified too, so I can give advice about nutrition and actually know what I’m talking about, but one thing at a time.

Leave a Reply

