adventures

Fore!

I love three day weekends. A whole extra day to forget about grown up responsibilities, so much more time to do activities!

Speaking of being a grown up, when did that happen? I love all of the “things every 20-something should know” posts that have been going around like this one. It is nice to know that I am not the only one who is broke/confused/trying to find herself.

There are a lot of things I would really like to check off the bucket list that are proving to be difficult. For example: moving out of my parents house. I would like to buy my own house; after renting for years I am not interested in throwing away money. But then I remember that I make beans at work and don’t have enough saved up to make it work right now anyway. And I’d like to date someone halfway decent who is not married, and not looking to be my fuck buddy. Preferably someone who is employed, self sufficient, and not a total a-hole. And obviously they have to lift more than me (not too hard to do). Man I am demanding! No wonder I’m single.

Alright! Enough complaining! I have been meaning to learn a thing or two about golf, since my coworkers seem to be going every week. I was thinking about getting lessons, but who am I kidding? That would cost me like 2 months of crossfit! So I turned to Kim, who is an expert in all man-activites, and off to the driving range we went!

Image

(look at that form!)

I did a little research so I don’t look like an dummy the first time I hit the green. *disclaimer, before this year I literally knew nothing about golf… Tiger who?* If you are a golf expert, please skip this post, were breaking things down Barney style.

First off: clubs

You can carry up to 14 clubs, its best to start with a driver, putter, sand wedge, a few irons and pitching wedge. I used a 6 iron at the range, and would definitely use it again.

  • woods- used to hit long shots (hollow, large head) driver- used for longest tee shots
  • irons- used less than 200 yards from the green. (increase number as you get closer)
  • wedges- send the ball high, not far.
  • putter- right next to the hole

Scoring: lower = better

  • Bogey- shooting ball into hole one stroke more than par. (Additional shots -double. triple, etc) (not so good)
  • Par- hitting ball in with the number of strokes it should take for the course. (ex: Par 3 course=3 strokes) (solid)
  • Birdie- shooting ball in with one less stroke than par (really good)
  • Eagle- two strokes below par (awesome)

*Handicap- take your average score, subtract par (typically 72 on an 18 hole course) and find your handicap. Useful to know how you will match up against other golfers.

Image

(shes way better than me)

Hopefully some of you will find this helpful, I will keep you posted on how it goes!

Leave a Reply

