Uncategorized

21DSD Update and Resolutions

Day 5 of the 21 day sugar detox, and still going strong! I haven’t had any flu like symptoms or cravings, as the book suggests may happen at this point. I have been really good at prepping my food in advance (I usually am bad at this) and never going anywhere without a snack. I have found that always having an emergency green apple on me is key to avoiding food cravings. I have been tracking all of the food I eat, when I wake up and go to sleep (sleep is another crucial part of the detox), what I do for exercise, and how my mood and energy are for the day. For those of you who are curious, or even if you’re not, heres what a typical day is like for me so far:

Day 2: went to bed at 10:30, woke up at 6:30am

  • B-Omelette with spinach, peppers, onions, and bacon.
  • L- salad with grilled chicken, asparagus, spinach, and other veggies and some bone broth
  • S(snack)- celery with sunflower seed butter and tea
  • D- crockpot chili and guacamole.

I went to Crossfit, where we did a workout with hang cleans, burpees and double unders, then I benched for a bit.  My energy and mood were just fine throughout the day. I typically hit a wall around 3:00 at work, so the snack kept me going until the end of the work day.

Image
My typical morning omelette

On Wednesday I was in the field so I had to prepare all of my meals for a day on the go. I brought a stuffed burger (ground turkey stuffed with peppers, onions, spinach, bacon, and cheese) over spinach, and then half a sweet potato with cinnamon, and a green apple with sunbutter. For dinner we went to Ruby Tuesday’s where I ordered a steak (dry), with roasted spaghetti squash and zucchini. I ordered a side of guacamole to add some flavor. I was a little nervous about sticking to the detox while sitting in a car for 6 hours, but it turned out fine.

Image
Stuffed turkey burger

I am not a huge fan of New Years resolutions, instead I have been keeping an ongoing bucket list (see the “about me” section) of goals I would like to accomplish over time. Some of the big things I hope to do in the next year are to compete in a fitness competition and begin (or at least start applying for) my master’s degree. I like to make smaller day to day goals that eventually become habits. Two years ago I set out to read the bible in a year, broken down into nightly sections. I have now read it twice. I also try to stretch every morning… but I forget to do that a lot. Did you make any New Year’s Resolutions this year? How are you planning on sticking with them?

Leave a Reply

