midweek motivation

Baby its cold outside!

Hello 5 day weekend!

I’m so thankful that my office was closed today, I did NOT want to dig myself out of the house this morning. They waited until 11:30pm to tell us so I didn’t find out until my alarm went off at 6:30 this morning, which was kind of annoying. I wont complain though, at least I am warm and dry inside!

photo
Slayer staying warm and cozy

The bf wants to go to the gym today, since we have a competition coming up this weekend, but I don’t want to risk getting worse and not be able to compete. I am starting to get a little stir crazy though. I think I’ll do a low intensity WOD to get my heart pumping and kick this cold.

My Snow Day WOD:

12 minute AMRAP (as many reps as possible)
5 decline push ups (I put my feet on the fireplace)
10 sit ups (hold weight/heavy object for a challenge)
15 burpees

I plan to warm up and cool down with some yoga and stretching as well.

Its day 17 of the 21DSD and I have fallen off the bandwagon. I like the idea of kicking sugar cravings, but I think it is affecting my immune system and possibly the reason I got sick in the first place. I have reintroduced fruits back into my diet (oranges and strawberries so far), and may add in some oats as well to give me energy for the competition. I am going to continue to keep processed junk out of my diet indefinitely.

Going wild! hello strawberries!
Going rouge! hello strawberries!

I recently joined this Facebook group 30 Days in the Cave, which I found on Thoughtful Cave Dad, and it has inspired me to make a new resolution. I am going to pick one thing each month, and do it for 30 days to form new habits. This month I am going to continue to keep processed food out of my diet for the extra 9 days beyond the 21DSD. Hopefully it will become a habit and I will only eat junk as an occasional treat. I am trying to come up with an idea for next month. Here are some ideas I have:

  • Pay it forward (do something nice for someone each day)
  • be a courteous driver (I’m from NJ, I flip the bird a lot)
  • meditate or do yoga every day

What do you think? What good habits are you trying to develop?

Stay warm,
Nic
3 thoughts on “Baby its cold outside!

  1. Since being a courteous driver is beyond my abilities, I love the idea of yoga or meditation everyday. Maybe if I do it enough, I won’t flip the bird while driving so much.

    1. Haha I know the feeling Kim! I am considering getting up 10 min earlier and practicing yoga/meditation. I have also need looking for groupons for hot yoga, if you want to join me!

Leave a Reply

