recipes

Spaghetti Squash with Sausage and Peppers

I don’t eat a lot of pasta anymore since I try to stay away from processed foods, but my parents were making one of my favorite pasta dishes last night, and I got a little jealous. I’m on a spaghetti squash kick right now, so I decided to make my own version of the dish using one instead of penne pasta. It came out SO WELL! Even the boyfriend approved. (Although, he probably not the best critic, he will eat anything).

photo 3
Mom’s awesome pasta
photo 4
My spaghetti squash version

Its definitely a keeper. Sorry the picture is crappy, I was really hungry and took it fast so I could stuff my face.

Spaghetti Squash with Sausage and Peppers

1 spaghetti squash
6 red peppers
2 broccoli crowns
garlic
olive oil
1 lb Italian sausage
1/4 cup chicken broth
parsley, thyme, oregano, salt and pepper to taste
parmesan cheese

  1. Cook spaghetti squash with your desired method and set aside.
  2. Cut and clean peppers toss with olive oil and garlic, bake in the oven on 350 until roasted (around 20-30 min)
  3. Brown sausage in skillet, add broccoli and chicken broth and spices. Once roasted, add in red pepper.
  4. Put shredded spaghetti squash in a large bowl, toss with sausage and veggie mixture, top with grated cheese, enjoy!
Leave a Reply

