competitions/races

Competition weekend

A few weeks ago I went up to New York for the Long Island Takeover Crossfit competition. It was the last three days of the 21DSD so it took a lot of preparation.

Heres what I packed:

  • 4 omelettes (two for me, two for the bf)
  • dehydrator sweet potato chips
  • 21DSD cinnilla nut mix
  • 2 green apples
  • 2 green bananas
  • larabars (not 21DSD approved, but for emergencies)

I didn’t take a pic of my cooler, but heres what I packed to wear:

image-5

The event itself was pretty chaotic, it was extremely crowded and wound up being shut down by the fire marshall for having too many people in the building and blocking the fire exits. We had a blast anyway, it was nice to get away for the weekend!

comp2

The first event was max power cleans in 5 minutes. I am decent at cleans, but I haven’t quite gotten the hang of squat cleans yet, which put me at a major disadvantage. I still PRed at 125#, but was ranked pretty low after this event.

The second event was for time: farmers carry with 25#plates, 5 burpees, sled push, 10 burpees, low sled push, 20 burpees, farmers carry back to the start. Hardest 20 burpees ever!

comp1

I wasn’t able to compete in the final 3 events due to the event being shut down, but I was in 20th place after the first two, I was hopeful to get in the top 10 by the end. Anyone know of any east coast competitions happening this spring?

comp3

Leave a Reply

