rants · recipes

Rant and a Spaghetti Squash Recipe

I noticed a lot of people blogging last week about Rachael Frederickson from the Biggest Loser and whether or not she lost too much weight. I didn’t bother weighing in because I, 1.) have never seen the Biggest Loser (I prefer actual reality over reality t.v.), and 2.) don’t think it’s any of my business to criticize someone else’s weight loss decision. I did read a few  insightful posts regarding her weight loss, including Jamie Eason‘s post about it. It did make me think of something that has been driving me nuts for a while.**SPOILER ALERT** this is going to be a rant. Feel free to skip to the recipe at the bottom if you don’t feel like hearing me bitch.

I have always been petite, I am 5’2, 120lbs and have been this size since high school. I have definitely put on some muscle in the past year or so, due to A LOT of hard work in the gym and eating clean. To the average person I look fit, but am nowhere near the level of fitness I am striving to get to in order to compete on stage. On a regular basis I am told “you’re too skinny”, “you need to eat a cheeseburger”, “do you eat?”…etc.

Would you be offended if I told you that you’re too fat? Maybe you should put down that pizza and pick up some weights…

I have a feeling you’d be devastated! Don’t worry, I would never say that, because its fucking rude! I would never judge you for your food choices or the fact that you’ve never set foot in a gym, because maybe those things make you happy. Did it cross your mind that I bust my ass at the gym every day because of how it makes me feel, and not how it makes me look? And in response to the question, do I eat? I bet any girl with a six pack would tell you, HELL YES I DO!! Probably more than you do. It’s what we put in our bodies that makes all the difference. I love the analogy that our bodies are like cars… Would you put low grade fuel into a high performance vehicle? No way! So why would you do the same to your body? It just seems silly to me…

O.K. rant over! To those of you who actually read all that, you’re awesome. On to the recipe! I saw a similar recipe in The Box magazine, but then forgot what was in it, so I made my own. It might be somewhat similar, or could be nothing like it other than the spaghetti squash base. Who knows! Did you notice I’m on a spaghetti squash kick lately? It’s SO GOOD! Although I tried to make it with pesto sauce the other day and it was really bland. It needs a heartier sauce, in my opinion. This is probably my favorite way to make it, along with this spaghetti squash bake, inspired by PaleOMG.

If you want to put some premium fuel into your body but need some inspiration, check out the recipe below!

Spaghetti Squash with Roasted Veggies and Sausage

  • 1 Spaghetti Squash-  as prepared here
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 red pepper- cut in slices
  • 1 cubanelle pepper – cut in slices
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 cup broccoli florets
  • 8 oz. tomato sauce
  • 1lb ground sausage or 4-5 sausages sliced
  • 2 tsp garlic
  • EVOO
  • Italian seasonings (I used dried, and a handful of fresh basil I had on hand)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Parmesan Cheese

photo 1

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place the two sliced peppers on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil. Do the same with the broccoli florets on a separate sheet. Bake in oven until they are roasted to desired doneness (about 45 min).
  3. In the meantime, prepare your spaghetti squash and chop all veggies.
  4. Cook sausage in a  large skillet, remove when fully cooked.  Add zucchini, onions, mushrooms, and garlic  into the skillet with sausage fat. Cook over medium heat until onions become translucent.  Add tomato sauce, Italian seasonings, salt and pepper, simmer for another 10-15 minutes.  Add roasted veggies to tomato sauce mixture.
  5. Toss sauce with spaghetti squash. Sprinkle with grated cheese. Enjoy!

photo 2

Leave a Reply

