travel · what I ate

Vacation and Fat Tuesday Pancakes

WTF, Winter, why are you still here? I just got back from an AMAZINGG week of sun and relaxation with mom, with the expectation of coming home to spring. GO AWAY SNOW!

Turks and Caicos
Turks and Caicos

Anywho… vacation was awesome. We sailed the calm seas of the Caribbean with no stomach viruses or toilets overflowing, so I’m calling it a success! I read two books, worked out every morning, ate tons of fresh fruit (and a buttload of cheese), and got my tan on! It was exactly the escape I needed from the chilly winter air here in Jersey. It’s been pretty tough to get back into the swing of things this week, I have no motivation! I started up yoga again this morning (they had it on the cruise ship, but it was $12! So much for all inclusive!)

Fresh fruit for breakfast
Fresh fruit for breakfast
so. much. cheese.
so. much. cheese.
fun in the sun!
fun in the sun!

It felt great to get back to Crossfit I registered for the Open and did 14.1 on Sunday. The workout was a 10 min AMRAP 30 double unders and 15 snatches at 55lbs. I was shooting for 200 reps and I got 202, so I was happy with my score. It’s nowhere near competitive, but its better than I could do a year ago!

Also, since its National Pancake Day/Fat Tuesday, the boyfriend and I made some delicious pancakes for dinner tonight. Strawberry Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes… to be precise.

photo 1

photo 3

photo 4

I stuffed myself with pancakes, eggs, and bacon on the side, since tomorrow is Ash Wednesday, I will not be eating meat. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Lent, it starts tomrrow, and traditionally Catholics give up something for 40 days until Easter Sunday. It kind of crept up on me this year, and I haven’t given it much thought. I thinking about doing some volunteering, or maybe I will try to not to curse, since I give up junk food quite often, it sort of feels like a cop out. Anyone else giving up something?

Leave a Reply

