competitions/races

15 Week Competition Prep Update

4 week before and after
4 week before and after

Life has finally settled down enough for me to relax, take a step back, and think about how things have been going lately. I have gotten back to my routine after vacation, and am starting to get used to the new position at work.

Workouts: I have been getting a little tired of the weightlifting exercises my coach gave me, so I have created my own workout routines to shake it up. I miss CrossFit because I feel like I get a MUCH better workout compared to body specific days, but I will stick with this for now. My upper body is pretty much ready to go, I just need to maintain what I have. The major part of my workouts right now is cardio and plyometrics in order to slim down my legs.

Upper body is looking tight, legs are coming along slowly.
Upper body is looking tight, legs are coming along slowly.

Diet: I am getting better at meal prep, and typically have all of my food cooked on Sunday, so I just need to put it into containers for work during the week. I don’t mind eating the same thing every day, it makes life easier having one less thing to think about. (Like wearing a uniform.)

Broccoli, peppers, mixed veggies for the week
Broccoli, peppers, mixed veggies for the week

Overall, I’d say my motivation has been high and I am hopeful that my new workouts will be the spark I need to up my intensity in the gym. I am happy with my progress so far, but sometimes I struggle mentally and compare myself to other women who are farther along than I am. When this happens, I need to take a deep breath and remind myself that I am exactly where I need to be right now. Also, I have a big project I am working on, I am excited to share it with you soon!

Cheers to your health!

Nic

7 thoughts on “15 Week Competition Prep Update

  1. Looking good! Great progress!! My husband competed in bodybuilding over the past several years and it takes alot of determination/motivation/perseverance to get through a competition prep. Keep going!!

      1. He last competed in 2012 at the national level. He always thinks about competing again maybe this year. I think it’s something I’d like to try once but I’m not sure I’m mentally strong enough.

  2. You are looking great!! I have to portion out all of my food right after I make it so that it doesn’t seem like a terrible chore to portion it out every time that I have to eat. 🙂 It sure takes up a lot of room in the refrigerator that way, though!

    1. Thank you!! 🙂 prepping in advance takes up SO MUCH ROOM but makes life much easier when it’s time to eat. My freezer is filled with baggies of 4oz portions of chicken.

  3. congrats on all your progress! stay motivated, keep a positive attitude, and I have no doubt you’ll reach your goal. most of all, be confident and stop worrying about others. don’t limit yourself to their success. be better.

Leave a Reply

