entrees

Tomato Pesto Chicken

IMG_2965

So I have recently done a lot of soul searching and life evaluating, and I have decided to pursue a career as a full time fitness trainer/nutrition and wellness coach. My plan is to take at least ONE step every day to help me get there. I have been meeting with trainer friends and mentors for advice, and I have been looking around to pick up some new classes and clients. The fitness side I already have down, I now hope to pursue a certification in nutrition so that I can safely and correctly guide others towards their wellness goals!

Exciting news! I am running a new cross training class starting this week at HIT Training. I found the gym through a friend, and it is an amazing atmosphere that I cannot wait to be a part of! The energy is infectious and makes me want to eat/sleep/breath fitness! Wish me luck on my first class!

Onto the recipe! (Why you’re actually here, I know.) I was watching a cooking show earlier and I saw the chef making a sun-dried tomato pesto, which got me thinking about the pint of cherry tomatoes sitting on my counter looking sad and neglected… Which lead to the birth of my Tomato-Basil Pesto! I’m not eating pasta right now, so I slathered it on some chicken and baked it, which came out to be just delightful!

Tomato-Basil Pesto Chicken

  •  1 pint cherry tomatoes
  • handful of fresh basil
  • handful of spinach
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/3 c pine nuts (I used sunflower seeds to be nut-free)
  • 1 TBSP extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 lb chicken breast
  • I TBSP balsamic vinegar (optional, to top)
  1. Place all ingredients (except chicken and balsamic) in food processor, pulse until blended
  2. Put chicken breast in a bag or bowl with pesto marinade, allow it to sit for half an hour. (Or be impatient and slather it right on the chicken and throw it right in the oven)
  3. Bake on 350 for approx 35 minutes, until chicken is fully cooked.
  4. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar, eat up!!
  5. **Wearing your competition heels while cooking to break them in is optional**

IMG_2955IMG_2956

Taking chicken out of the oven with my heels on
Taking chicken out of the oven with my heels on
Leave a Reply

