stuff I love

Friday Favorites…

I hope you all had a wonderful, healthy week! Mine was disrupted by a mid-week stomach bug, but I am slowly starting to feel better, and after a few days off I finally returned to the gym today. Today was back and bi’s, I wasn’t as high energy as I would have liked, but I did my best. I did a great interval workout on the stair machine during my lunch break, which gave me energy to get through the rest of the work day.

I have some big posts coming, A LOT has been going on in my life these days. Tonight, however, I just want to relax and share a few products I have been loving lately. Feel free to share yours in the comments!

Some things I love lately…

Juiced Veggies:

Carrot, Ginger, and Spinach Juice
Carrot, Ginger, and Spinach Juice

While I prefer to eat my veggies whole, I was craving something sweet to drink today, and seltzer just wasn’t cutting it. Juiced vegetables are a delicious and convenient way to sneak extra vegetable in! I think I need to invest in a juicer. I purchased this carrot/spinach/ginger juice at my local natural foods market, but they are pricey!
– Juicing is a great option if you want the benefits and nutrients from eating vegetables (which you should!!), but you don’t have time/don’t like veggies.

Alfalfa Sprouts: IMG_3025

Reasons to eat sprouts:
– They’re inexpensive (you can even grow your own!)
– Loaded with protein and fiber
– They are considered a “super” food, loaded with vitamins and amino acids!
– Sprouts contain essential fatty acids
– Add them to ANYTHING for a nutritional punch (salads, burgers, soups, basically any entree)
**I purchased these for only $1.99!

Mung Bean Pasta: IMG_3024

Mung Bean Benefits:
– Gluten Free, Vegan, Kosher, USDA Certified Organic- something for everyone!
– Contains 25g protein, 11g fiber, and only 180 calories per serving!
– Low in sugar (6g)
– Low in cholesterol, and loaded with soluble dietary fiber, which has shown to help lower LDL (bad) cholesterol
– Contains isoflavanoids which help regulate hormonal activity. May aide in the relief of hot flashes
I used the mung bean fettucini in place of pasta. Unlike traditional white-flour pasta, mung beans are a low glycemic index food, which promotes healthy blood sugar! An excellent option if you don’t feel like preparing a spaghetti squash.

Cooked Mung Beans
Cooked Mung Beans
Mung Bean Pasta with Clean tomato sauce, Alfalfa Sprouts, and Turkey
Mung Bean Pasta with Clean tomato sauce, Alfalfa Sprouts, and Turkey

Egg Whites as Dessert: 

I don’t know why, but I freaking love egg whites with some cinnamon and nut butter. I guess since I can’t have dessert right now, this is a close substitute. Its kind of like a crepe or a pancake, and I have been having this as my evening meal, and its SO GOOD!! Sounds weird, but give it a try!

Egg White "Crepe" with cinnamon and almond butter
Egg White “Crepe” with cinnamon and almond butter

What are you loving today??

For more info about the benefits of sprouts and greens: http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2013/04/08/eating-sprouts.aspx?e_cid=2ndBestOfNL_art_3&et_cid=DM40911&et_rid=529356969

 

One thought on “Friday Favorites…

Leave a Reply

