Random · what I ate

Kombu-wha?

Kombucha: ancient immortal elixir, or trendy bacteria?

photo

I learned something about myself today. I love CrossFit, and I really like lifting… heck I even enjoy the occasional run; but the real reason I do these things is because I LOVE to eat. Doesn’t really matter what it is as long as I can shove it in my mouth (not like that, pervs). Since I am less than a month out from my first show, my life pretty much revolves around food (cooking it, weighing/measuring, eating it). I am excited to eat like a normal person again, but I kind of forget what  thats like. I will definitely continue a lot of the habits I have developed over the past few months, such as eating 5-6 small meals instead of 3.

Ok enough about me! So I have been hearing a lot about Kombucha lately and I was curious as to what the hype was all about. Heres what I’ve gathered:

History: Kombucha dates back to ancient times in Eastern Asia. A Korean physician named Dr. Kombu is said to have given his Kombucha tonic to the Emperor of Japan as a gift to promote healing. It later spread to China, where it is was worshipped for its properties of immortality, and then later to Germany, which led to its travels to the western world.

So what is it?! Basically, its fermented tea made up of microorganisms known as a “symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast” (SCOBY) which is brewed into a tea.  The original culture or “mother” can be used to make additional batches, (similar to a starter of sourdough bread).

Claims: Improves the body’s defenses and enhances the immune system, gives energy and aides in digestion with prebiotics (which fuel the growth of healthy microorganisms in the digestive track), antioxidants, and polyphenols. It is also said to detox the body through its enzymes and bacterial aides.

Sweet! but does it work?? There have been no tests/studies to prove the claims of Kombucha tea. Eventually, we may discover that there is some truth to these claims, but it is too early to tell.

So do I drink it?? Use your own judgement. Want my two cents? (Of course you do! Its my blog, pretend you care about my opinion!) I personally tried it and I thought it was the most delicious thing since peanut butter – yes, that friggin’ good. I also haven’t drank anything besides tea, water, and seltzer for three months, so this was pretty much drinking the nectar of the gods. It is, however, a bit high in sugar, due to the fermenting process, so I would not recommend drinking it daily. I consider it more of a treat than a regular part of my diet. Also, home brewed batches can be dangerous, so proceed with caution.

Additional reads:

http://www.nbcnews.com/id/36571884/ns/health-diet_and_nutrition/t/trendy-fizzy-drink-mushrooming/#.U4pL4ChDxSo http://www.cancer.org/treatment/treatmentsandsideeffects/complementaryandalternativemedicine/dietandnutrition/kombucha-tea http://www.foodrenegade.com/kombucha-health-benefits/

Leave a Reply

