entrees

Healthy Chinese Food! – Ginger Garlic Stir-Fry

Howdy friends!

Happy Thursday 🙂 I hope you’re having a restful week. I spend the early part of the week stressed to the max, lots of things going on this week. I am certainly looking forward to June being over for many reasons:

1. I want to eat/live like a normal person again. I love clean eating and plan to do it forever, but sometimes I just don’t feel like having lean protein and veggies a bajillion times per day.

2. I miss CrossFit/lifting heavy, which I can’t do if I want to have a dainty bikini body. (Not hating on the bikini folks, but these 15lb dumbbells are for the birds!)

3. The BF will be done with bootcamp! I am anxiously waiting for him to find out where he will be stationed, as I will have to coordinate some trips to go see him, and possibly rack up a ton of airline miles.

4. I have some exciting career plans for the future and I am anxious to have more time to dedicate to making them grow!

Anywho… My parents got Chinese food the other night, which I don’t even like, and NEVER eat, but I wanted it anyway (probably because I “cant” have it). I whipped up this stir fry in minutes, and it was the PERFECT substitute for mom’s garlic and broccoli chicken. (You could make this with chicken, but I had steak on hand)

Ginger-Garlic Steak and Veggie Stir-Fry

photo 3

 Ingredients:

  • 1 TBSP Garlic, minced
  • 1 TSP Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 TBSP Ginger
  • Coconut Aminos (to taste, add a little at a time, its salty)
  • 1 lb lean meat or seafood of choice (I used steak)
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 red pepper, cut into slices
  • 1 cup sugar snap peas
  • 1/2  cup broccoli, chopped
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms, chopped
  • EVOO to coat the skillet, about 1 TBSP
  1. Chop/clean/prep all veggies
  2. EVOO in skillet, saute peppers and onions until soft, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add garlic, ginger, red pepper flakes, mushrooms and steak
  4. Once steak is partially cooked ALMOST to desired doneness, add snap peas and broccoli, add a splash coconut aminos, cook 1-2 minutes.
  5. Serve! Add additional coconut aminos if desired.

** Make sure if you’re using chicken that you add it a bit earlier so that it cooks thoroughly. I like my steak a little pink so I didn’t cook it all the way through.

photo 4

photo 2

5 thoughts on “Healthy Chinese Food! – Ginger Garlic Stir-Fry

  1. “Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.”

  2. OMG. Another recipe made. Another recipe loved!!!! Soo good. So filling. I actually put it over spaghetti squash because I love it! Haha it was great! Everyone here for dinner loved it too!! Keep ’em coming! 🙂

    1. Hey girlie! I’m so glad you liked it 🙂 thats a great idea to add spaghetti squash, I’ll have to try it. I’m on a big ginger kick lately, it just makes everything taste so fresh!

Leave a Reply

