Uncategorized

Ginger-Pineapple Turkey Burgers

Where has the time gone?!

I can’t believe it’s been almost two weeks since the competition already! The week following the show was a total blur, trying to squeeze in as much time with the BF as possible before he deployed. We had lots of delicious food and wonderful adventures in the short 5 days we had to spend together.

The weekend was spent BBQing with some of my dear friends who I haven’t been spending much time with lately thanks to the craziness of competition preparation. Unfortunately, I tried a bit too hard to be normal (think burgers, ribs, and booze) which left me with a stomachache, so I went home early. Pretty much everything I eat makes me uncomfortably full and bloated, my stomach hasn’t gotten used to eating like a regular person again. I tried “reverse  dieting” but I wanted to eat all things immediately after the show, so I went a little nuts. Oh well, live and learn.

4th of July with the CF Ladies!
4th of July with the CF Ladies!

I also gained about 15lbs right after the show; going from 1,200 calories per day to 2,000 will do that to a girl. About 5 of it was water weight, so I am now hovering at about 120lbs, which was my starting weight before training for the show. (I was down to 112lbs for competition day). The good part about practically doubling my calories?? I have SO MUCH ENERGY! I’m much weaker than I was before I started curling tiny dumbbells instead of deadlifting, but I have been CRUSHING my workouts at CrossFit this passed week. Maybe I’m just really excited to be back. Or its the extra food. Or both! Yea, lets go with both. Either way, I am back and more motivated than ever to lift heavy and get strong. My plan is to “bulk up” a bit and then do a figure show next spring! One of my girlfriends is interested in competing as well, so hopefully I will have a training buddy! 🙂

Ok, why you’re actually here… Sorry it took me forever to post this recipe, but I’ve been crazy busy between work/workouts/coaching/life. Here it is!!!

image

Ginger-Pineapple Turkey Burgers

  • 1 can pineapple slices (8 oz)
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/4 c. coconut aminos
  • 1 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1/4 ground oats
  • sauteed peppers/onions/any other veggies to garnish
  1. mix coconut aminos and 1/4 cup pineapple juice in large bowl
  2. in a separate bowl, mix ground turkey, ginger and oats together. Add 1/2 of liquid mixture to burgers, reserve the other half.
  3. shape into 4-5 burgers, grill, brush with the remaining half of the liquid mixture
  4. grill pineapple slices
  5. top burger with pineapple slices and any other veggies
  6. Serve on your favorite bun, or over a salad.

Check out my stage pics!! I’m so proud of how I did, but SO glad its over so I can eat again!

image

Leave a Reply

