competitions/races

Rugged Maniac Race Review

I woke up bright and early on Sunday in the mood to lift heavy things. Since the NPC show a few weeks ago I have been eager to get back into CrossFit and gaining back some strength, so I decided to hit the gyn before heading to Raceway Park for the Rugged Maniac. I am starting a new weightlifting cycle and Sunday was Back Squats. I was doing sets of 5, not super heavy. I got up to 5×130# and called it a day. My old PR was 185#, but I’m nowhere near that now (sad face). Then I met up with some friends and headed to the race!

ruggedmaniacThe Rugged Maniac is one of the more organized races I have run, and it was nice to be able to show up and only wait 5 minutes to check in. I found it annoying that it was $10 for parking, since we already shelled out money for the race, but that might have been the facility’s policy, not the races. I usually like to choose races that are for a good cause. While the Rugged Maniac doesn’t directly donate to a cause, they encourage competitors to fundraise for the USO, which is a non-profit organization that supports US troops and their families by providing entertainment to lift the spirits of the Armed Forces members.

rugged_maniac_course

We were given out race packets a t-shirts, which were good quality and actually fit me! (Take note other race organizers, “womens small” does not equal “mens large”). We were also given a beer ticket for after the race, and our bibs.

rmshirt The race itself had 25 obstacles and tons of mud. The obstacles were fun and challenging, but not impossible. There was army crawling in mud under barbed wire, climbing over giant walls (accurately named “Napoleon Complex”, which I totally have), jumping over fire, and swinging from rings. The obstacles were well built, unlike another obstacle race I did last year, and I didn’t fear them falling over.

rmobstacles

We finished up the race with a giant slide (that I almost flew off of) and then headed into the finisher’s area for protein bars, bananas, oranges, and our free beer, compliments of Harpoon Brewery. This was my first beer in months, since I cut out alcohol for the competition, so it was extra delicious! firstbeer

There were a couple tents after the race with free samples: Naked Juice, some sort of chia seeds, and an Air Force tent. I won an Air Force t-shirt (not that I’d ever wear it) for doing 20 pull ups. Then some of my girlfriends entered a Harpoon beer stein holding challenge, and Nathalie won! I wish they had more vendors, last year they had Bear Naked Granola, and gave out huge bags of samples. Oh well, I don’t need the extra junk food.

ruggedmaniac

I will definitely do this race again in the future, and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes mud/obstacles/being a bad ass!

Leave a Reply

