entrees · recipes

Cavé Sweet Potato Salad Re-creation

photo 3Hello friends! 

I hope the weekend is treating you well.

Mine has been fantastic. Yesterday was my flex day since I worked last weekend so I woke up early and went to the gym, sat in the sun, ran errands, went back to the gym for a brutal 10×3 front squats and a quick metcon (courtesy of competitorstraining.com). I ran the evening class and then called it a night. I’m not sure if it was because of the 3 day weekend, or just the nice weather, but I have been in an incredible mood 🙂 Today I got in the gym early for a great partner WOD and then did 3 rounds of 500m row/15GHD sit ups. I had nothing scheduled for the afternoon, and I am taking full advantage of it!!

I have been getting better at not stuffing my face with all foods in sight lately. Being at work helps because I only bring a certain amount of food with me, and thats what I eat. I have still been snacking a bit at night, but I’m pretty much back to normal otherwise. Ok, thats a lie, when I got home from CrossFit this morning I stuffed my face with everything in sight and then took a nap. In my defense, I’ve been doing two a day WODs to kick my butt back into shape, so I think I needed the fuel/rest for recovery.

Stuffed Eggplant that I shoved in my face after the WOD today :)
Stuffed Eggplant that I shoved in my face after the WOD today 🙂

Tomorrow I am getting TRX certified, I’m so excited! I love school/learning so any opportunity to learn something new is awesome in my book. We have a bunch of TRX’s at HIT, but I never really use them because I don’t have much experience with them. Hopefully after tomorrow I will be able to add them in as a new torture device in my classes. (hehe, get excited HIT folks!!)

I forgot to post this recipe a while ago, and its SO tasty I had to dig it up and share. If you live by the Jersey Shore and you haven’t been to Cavé, a Paleo Eatery in Avon, you need to go, like, yesterday. Tell them I sent you and get the Bison, Duck, Egg burger – its to die for! (see it here). Anyway, I am obsessed with the sweet potato salad that comes with their burgers, so I attempted to recreate it for the 4th of July. It was a big hit, however, no one had tried the Cavé original, so they couldn’t tell me if it tasted the same. I think it does. Do me a favor and go there and try it, then make mine and let me know!! Ok, I’ll shut up now, here it is!!!

Cavé-Inspired Sweet Potato Saladphoto 2

  • 3 large sweet potatoes, scrubbed and cut into cubes
  • 1/2 red onion, minced
  • 1 red pepper, minced
  • 5-6 green onions, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil
  • white wine vinegar
  1. Steam cubed sweet potatoes until soft, but still firm (not mushy) (stovetop or in microwave)
  2. Chop all other ingredients while steaming the potatoes. Allow sweet potatoes to cool.
  3. Mix all solid ingredients, mix some oil and vinegar together (I didn’t measure, sorry) and toss veggies with it. Add salt and pepper to taste. photo 1

 

 

6 thoughts on “Cavé Sweet Potato Salad Re-creation

Leave a Reply

