entrees · recipes

Chicken Soup for Recovery

Blahhh, I don’t feel well!!!

What a great welcome back home after a lovely trip to San Diego. I came home with a sore throat, stuffy nose, and my head feels stuffed up like I am underwater. To top it off, my shoulder has been hurting, so I went to the doctor who said it was just inflammation due to overuse. I haven’t been to the gym all week 😦

My sweet boy is all ready for snuggles!
My sweet boy is all ready for snuggles!

I’m actually thankful that they happened at the same time, or else I would have had to take MORE time off from the gym. After going to the CF Games last week, I am super pumped to lift heavy and am anxious to get back in there.

I am using this week to practice a little self love: yoga, stretching/foam rolling, reading, and catching up on some healthy cooking! I whipped up some semi-homemade chicken soup (no noodles) in order to help myself feel better.

Easy Chicken Soup Recipe

photo 4

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 3 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 cup mushrooms, chopped
  • 4 chicken breasts/thighs (mine had been cooked and frozen)
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 2 can water (I filled the empty broth can with water after adding the broth)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Heat a large pot over medium heat and add olive oil and veggies, saute for approximately 5 minutes until onions become translucent.
  2. Add liquid, chicken, and seasonings.
  3. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer, allow to simmer for 30 minutes. Chicken should be falling off the bone.
  4. Remove chicken bones and bay leaf, eat and enjoy!

photo 1

Leave a Reply

