Random

Healthy Habits

“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten”

Amazing quote, and SO true. If you keep doing the same thing over and over, how can you ever expect different results?! I think that means its time for some change!

I have taken some time to think about what I really want in life over the past few months, and I am figuring out who I need to become in order to accomplish these things. By implementing a few little changes at a time I plan to gradually develop myself into a more productive person and move one step closer to achieving my goals. I will continue doing these little things for the next several weeks, and hopefully they will become habits and a part of who I am.

Here are a few things I have added to my daily routine:

  • Yoga/stretching/foam rolling every morning. This is a must for CrossFitters or anyone who is an intense athlete, and I highly recommend adding a bit of mobility to your morning routine. Here are some great resources: MobilityWOD, DoYouYoga, BarbellShrugged
  • Making use of my morning commute. I have a 45 minute commute to work on the NJ Parkway. For all of my local readers, you know how much that blows. Never ending construction and traffic leaves a girl pretty cranky, and the last thing I want is to start the day off in a bad mood. I have downloaded podcasts to my phone and have been listening to them on the way to work in order to distract me from my road rage. I really enjoy Barbell Shrugged and Fat Burning Man for heath/fitness topics. I also downloaded the TED app, and I am OBSESSED with it. All of the speakers are excellent and there is such a broad range of topics, I guarantee there is something for everyone. Theres even a talk about dinosaurs!!)
  • Dressing for success. Ok, this one is more like “brush my hair and open both eyes when I throw on something for work”. I don’t work in a very glamourous or fashionable industry, so I usually wear a polo and slacks to work for the most part. This is comfortable, easy, and boring… kind of like my job! So I decided to put a little effort into my presentation, and if I look more professional, perhaps it will improve my quality of work! I don’t know if its working or not, but I was really productive this week, and I got a bunch of compliments on my green pants from StitchFix!

What habits do you have/would you like to add to your daily routine?

2 thoughts on “Healthy Habits

  1. I can relate to the throw something on for work deal. I get up at 4am as I have to be at work at 5:45. If I want to look nice, I have to lay my clothes out the night before.

Leave a Reply

