entrees · recipes

Sausage and White Bean Soup and Yoga

Gosh I love fall. Yup, I’m the first to admit, I am a stereotypical basic white girl when it comes to fall. (Although, I don’t really understand what the basic thing means…) To me, fall means warm sweaters, hot tea, and obviously all things pumpkin (except I don’t do coffee, so no PSL for me). Fall also makes me crave soup. I recently had a Polish soup with kielbasa, beans and cabbage which was fantastic. I wanted to make something similar, but a bit healthier and this is what I came up with:

photo 5

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb chicken sausage
  • 2 14oz  cans chicken broth (or make your own if you have time, this is healthier and adds more flavor!)
  • 2 14 oz cans water (use empty broth cans)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 can Cannellini beans (rinsed)
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 4 cups fresh baby spinach
  • salt, pepper, Italian seasoning to taste

soup 1

  1. Star by browning the sausage in a skillet (I kept them whole to start, and just browned the sides)
  2. Once the sausages have browned, remove them from the skillet and add the olive oil, onion and garlic. sauté over medium heat.
  3. When the sausage is cool enough to handle, slice into bite size pieces, and add it back into the skillet with the garlic and oil. (I did this because it is chicken sausage and wanted it cooked thoroughly)
  4. While sausage is cooking, add two cans of chicken broth and two cans of water to a large pot, and simmer.
  5. Add the rinsed beans, tomatoes, and cooked sausage sauté to the chicken broth and allow to simmer for about 5 minutes. Season with salt, pepper, and Italian spices.
  6. Add spinach at the end, allow to simmer just until wilted, then serve!

photo 2

photo 4

Next time, I might add more sausage and a second can of beans to make it more stew-like, but its delicious just the way it is. Quick to make, and perfect for a chilly evening. Obviously feel free to use different meat/veggies/lentils or grains that you have on hand. I actually added leftover tortellini to the leftover soup and it was awesome.

In other news, am beyond excited because I am spending my weekend in Princeton taking part in yoga workshops with Erin Motz!  I have been practicing yoga with Erin for months using her YouTube videos, but it will be so cool to practice with her in person! I’m also pretty excited to break out my funky new yoga pants from Be Barow, they’re pretty rad. Have you ever met any of your online “idols”? I love how the internet brings people from all over the world together. Ok, I’m off to hit the mat, go make some soup!

Namaste,

Nicole

 

Leave a Reply

