adventures · competitions/races

Powerlifting Adventures

My goodness it’s been a while! Sorry about that, I still don’t have a charger for my laptop, so I have been computerless for a while. I know a few of you asked for my veggie chili recipe, which is long overdue, and I have a few more recipes that I need to write up ASAP!

images

How have you been? I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving filled with loved ones and delicious food! In addition to my amazing family and friends, I am thankful for all of you who read my posts on here, so I’m not talking to myself all the time! I personally don’t really care for Thanksgiving food, so I don’t pig out it sounds like most people do. Its the only holiday that my family doesn’t make any Italian dishes, and honestly, if it doesn’t have tomato sauce on it, why bother eating it?

For the past few month’s I have been traveling on a new path in the fitness world. I decided that I like eating and I hate cardio, therefore the Bodybuilding world isn’t for me. I have no interest in tracking my macros or weighing my food and starving myself to look emaciated in a bikini. (sorry bodybuilding friends!)

idratherbefat

I have also moved away from CrossFit, my first fitness love. As much as I love the intensity of the workouts and the camaraderie that I developed with my fellow CrossFitters while suffering through the WODs, I have accepted the fact that I am not going to be competing in the Games, and I’d rather have a bruised ego than a permanently injured shoulder. So what have I been up to, you ask?

I have entered my first powerlifting meet! Yes, yes, I pick things up and put them down. What exactly does powerlifting entail? I will be competing in deadlift, bench, and back squat, and will have three attempts at each to lift the heaviest weight possible. My current maxes are 230 DL, 205 BS, and 120 Bench. I am hoping to PR all three of them at the meet… we’ll see how it goes! Fortunately, I have been training with an expert power lifter and friend to work on my form and training cycle.

What fitness goals have you made for yourself lately? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Powerlifting Adventures

  1. Power-lifting sounds like fun! I’d love to do something like that one day. Right now I working on being able to do an unassisted pull-up and getting stronger in general. I play golf competitively, so I’m hoping to gain some distance.

    1. That’s awesome! Pull ups are tough, but they’re one of the best exercises out there. Keep working on it and you’ll get there! I’ve tried golfing before but I’m not very good, that’s amazing that you compete!!

Leave a Reply

