recipes

Slow Cooker Pork Carnitas

Hey there! How’s 2015 treating you so far? I hope you are sticking to any resolutions or goals you have made in the new year. I took a few weeks off from the gym after my powerlifting meet, and enjoyed the holidays by eating whatever I wanted. It felt freaking amazing. I think I needed the mental break more than a physical one. While my body feels strong, sometimes the stress of training and eating right are mentally exhausting.

I now feel refreshed and recharged to start the year off on a good note. Next weekend I will be competing in my first NAS Strongman competition. I am super exited! It is a parter competition which includes a log press, axle deadlift, yoke carry, truck pull, and tug of war. I have been training with an amazing group of ladies, and I am hooked! This will hopefully be the first of many Strongman events for me this year. I also plan to continue to compete in a few powerlifting events this year as well.

In addition to lifting heavy things, another goal I have made for the new year is to improve my weekly meal prep routine. I plan to use my crock pot to prepare large amounts of meat for the week, and have been looking for inspiration and recipes. I wound up making these Pork Carnitas last weekend and holy crap it was fantastic. This made enough for dinner and lunches for several days. I’d say its about 6 servings. I added hot sauce to mine to give it some heat, but you could always add more chili powder if you’d like to increase the flavor.

photo 2

Slow Cooker Pork Carnitas

– 3-4lb boneless pork shoulder, cut into 2in cubes
– 2 tsp salt
– 2 tsp chili powder
– 1 tsp cumin
– 1 tsp oregano
– 1 large onion, quartered
– 4 cloves garlic

1. Place all ingredients in slow cooker.

photo 1

2. Cook on low until meat is fully cooked, about 6 hours.

photo 4

3. Shred meat and serve over rice and black beans. Top with Salsa Verde. (I used a can, but next time I think I’ll try and make my own.)

photo 3

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

