recipes

Homemade Granola

I hope you’re all surviving the Blizzard of 2015!

IMG_5057

We were supposed to get 12-18 inches here in NJ but its closer to 5-6 inches where I am. They cancelled work for today last night so I didn’t care if it snowed at all!

Since we were going to be “snowed in” I prepared by coming up with a few recipes to make today and did a big workout yesterday, so that today would be a rest day.

1/26/15 Workout:

  • Deadlifts: 5xbar, 5,135#, 5×165#, 5×185#, 3×205, 2×225#
  • Deadlifts for reps: 5 sets of 10 reps at 135#
  • Dumbbell Row: 5×10 reps 25# with fat grips
  • Front Squat: 5×6 reps at 95# to work on depth

Then,  I stuffed my face with my homemade Jambalaya, and headed home to prepare for #snowpacolypse2015.

isurvivedblizzard

Am I the only one who wakes up early, filled with motivation to get thing done whenever I don’t have to anything I am obligated to do? That was me today. I woke up at seven, without an alarm, completed my pushups for the HIT Training pushup challenge, and started cooking. Five hours later, the kitchen is clean, the food is put away, and I am going to relax and read for the rest of my afternoon with a healthy and delicious homemade parfait. This granola is good, I mean really good. Its so simple and contains only wholesome ingredients. Don’t waste your money on store brands that are loaded with added chemicals and artificial flavoring. Give it a shot, I promise you’ll be hooked!

IMG_5087

Healthy Granola

  • 3 c. oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 c. vegetable oil/coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 c. honey
  • 1 & 1/2 c. add ins (dried fruit, nuts, chocolate chips, etc)

IMG_5084

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, stir until well mixed.
  2. Spread mixture onto a greased baking sheet (or put down parchment paper, it wont stick!)
  3. Bake in oven for 10 minutes, stir, and bake for another 5-7 minutes. Granola should be lightly browned.
  4. Allow to cool, break into pieces, and store in a jar/container.
  5. To make a parfait: Layer fruit, yogurt, and granola in a bowl, and enjoy!

IMG_5085

IMG_5089

IMG_5090

Leave a Reply

