Uncategorized

Protein Mug Cake/Mousse

Hey everyone! I hope you all had a blast watching the SuperBowl last night, I know I did! I’m not going to lie, I didn’t love the commercials as much as I have in previous years. I really liked the Budweiser puppy commercial (I may have gotten a little teary-eyed the first time I saw it!) and I also liked the one with Amy Pudry (the badass Paralympic snowboarder) but I actually had no idea it was for a Toyota Camry until I looked it up afterwards. Good commercials guys, but now I want to workout and get a puppy, not drink beer or buy a Toyota.

So, after stuffing my face with brisket, venison chili, buffalo chicken dip, and Oreo stuffed brownies, I think its time to clean up my act this week! I did some serious meal prep before the game on Sunday: grilled chicken, omelettes, cut up fruits and veggies. Don’t get me wrong, I love eating healthy food.. I love how it makes me feel and I enjoy the taste, but sometimes I just want something sweet! Enter… the mug cake! I have read countless blogs with mug cake recipes, some of which included protein powder to add a little extra protein to the mix. I wasn’t impressed with any of the recipes though. Its super annoying when people say “check out this easy recipe” and it includes 100 obscure ingredients that no one, besides the founder of Whole Foods has in their kitchen. You mean you don’t have arrowroot starch, palm shortening, or cacao nibs in your pantry?? Whats wrong with you?!

Fear not, dear friends. I too am too poor to shop at Whole Foods, and I would rather know its more responsible to spend my money paying for car insurance, than on gluten free, vegan, grass fed, magical-unicorn-dust-sprinkled ingredients. Anywho, enough about me, heres a DELICIOUS dessert recipe you need to try immediately.

**DISCLAIMER this was supposed to be a “mug cake” a healthy, portion-sized cake for one person, but its more of a mousse consistency, which I was totally ok with, and wound up dipping strawberries in it. TRY IT NOW!! You can thank me later 😉 **SECOND DISCLAIMER I was told this looks like poo.. which I guess it does a little, but don’t let that scare you away! Its the tastiest poo you’ll ever eat. Wait, thats gross, just try it.

Chocolate Protein Mug Mousse

photo 5

  • 1 scoop protein powder (chocolate) approx. 30g
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 tsp milk
  • 1 tsp coconut flour

photo 1

  1. Spray mug with nonstick spray, combine all ingredients in a mug, stir
  2. microwave mug for 30 seconds, stir
  3. microwave for another 30-60 seconds, stir, eat!
  4. Optional, dip strawberries in it and pretend its a decadent dessert!

photo 4

4 thoughts on “Protein Mug Cake/Mousse

  1. try this one:
    1 scoop protein powder
    1 egg
    1 tablespoon coconut oil
    2 tablespoons nut butter
    dash of almond milk
    mix it all in the cup and microwave 50 seconds.

Leave a Reply

