midweek motivation · Random · Uncategorized

40 Days of Friendship

So I’ve decided to try something new this year. As many of you are aware, yesterday was Ash Wednesday, which for my fellow Christians and I, is the beginning of Lent. Many folks know Lent as the 40 days before Easter when people give up junk food, soda, or any other bad habits they wish to eliminate from their lives.

As somewhat of a fitness enthusiast, I have pretty much given up all of the junk that I am willing to get rid of from my diet (maybe I should give up eating healthy?? I kid, of course). I read this beautiful quote from Pope Francis, regarding the Lenten season:

“whenever our interior life becomes caught up in its own interests and concerns, there is no longer room for others, no place for the poor. God’s voice is no longer heard, the quiet joy of his love is no longer felt, and the desire to do good fades. We end up being incapable of feeling compassion at the outcry of the poor, weeping for other people’s pain, and feeling a need to help them, as though all this were someone else’s responsibility and not our own.”

I thought about this for a while, and I think that instead of giving something up this year, I will try to add a little extra love to my life. I am going to spend the next 40 days reaching out to loved ones with whom I have lost touch. I have already begun, and as cheesy as it sounds, the feeling of reconnecting with friends is bringing joy to my heart. You never know how much time you have left on earth, a lesson many of my dear friends have learned in the past week, so make sure you are making the most of every second.

Feel free to share if/what you are giving up or doing for lent this year!

Leave a Reply

