midweek motivation

Just Be.

Long time no see… So much for the New Year’s goal to blog weekly. Lets just say that 2015 and I have not become very good friends so far. January: back injury that I am still recovering from, February: back to back funerals Valentine’s Day weekend, March: broke up with the bf of a year and a half.

(Don’t worry now, this will not become a pity party, just figured I’d explain why I haven’t been too bloggy lately.)

I have been having a lot of anxiety lately about not accomplishing the goals I have set for my self quickly enough, which has led to a lot of frustration. This weekend I went to a Yoga fundraiser for Multiple Sclerosis. The first 15 minutes of class were spent sitting and chanting. Now, if you know me, you’ll know I am majorly a type-A personality, and I like control. There is nothing more frustrating than sitting still and listening to words being repeated over and over again. I was fidgety, I thought about all of the things I “had to do” that day, and anxiously waited for it to be over. (Side note: I wound up doing everything that I was thinking about, later on, with plenty of time)

As we jumped into the practice, I began to focus less on the outside world, and more on my breathing; letting my body flow with my breath. I let the stresses of the world fade away, and focused intently on the teachers voice guiding my way. Lost in the moment, we flowed through countless downward dogs, held strong in plank pose, and I did the best standing split of my life. After an hour or so of yoga practice, we were lying on our backs, with one leg pulled into our chest. The instructor made a comment about thanking our legs for carrying us around all day. It made me crack a smile, because it is something so simple that we really take for granted every day. We finished up our practice, and returned to a seated position. Once again, we were invited to join in for a chant, and this time I participated, feeling much more relaxed and grounded.

Sometimes we need to be reminded that its ok to just be. You don’t always have to eat perfectly, workout every single day, or be the best at whatever it is you like to do. The people who care about you will still love you, and the sun will still rise and set on another day. 🙂

With that, I hope you find some time to relax today, forget about all your “to do’s” and just be present in the moment.

Yoga Solace Fundraiser for MS
Yoga Solace Fundraiser for MS
Leave a Reply

