recipes

Slow Cooker Ginger-Garlic Chicken

Gosh this recipe is good. This is adapted from a recipe that my mother cooks. I’m not sure where she found the original version (I believe it was in a magazine). Its great for when you are craving an Asian-inspired dish, but don’t want the calories of ordering take-out Chinese.

I swapped out the ingredients in mom’s recipe to make it a bit healthier, (less sugar, chicken breast meat, etc) but none of the flavor was lost! You may not have all of the ingredients at home if you don’t regularly cook with mirin or coconut aminos, but I guarantee they are worth a trip to the grocery store because you will be making this dish over and over! Once you have all the ingredients, the prep is super quick, and the slow cooker does all of the work. It lasts me a few days, but I might try to double it and eat it all week. I hope you enjoy, let me know what you think 🙂

photo 1

Slow Cooker Ginger -Garlic Chicken

  • 1/3 c. mirin (rice wine)
  • 1/3 c. coconut aminos
  • 1/3 c. toasted sesame oil
  • 1 tsp brown sugar (or sweetener of your choice)
  • 6-8 garlic cloves, whole, peeled
  • 1 inch piece of fresh garlic, chopped
  • 2 lbs chicken breast
  1. Combine all ingredients in slow cooker, cook on low for 6 hours.
  2. Remove chicken and shred, then return to slow cooker.
  3. Serve with veggies, rice, by itself, just eat it with a spoon out of slow cooker… the possibilities are endless!
5 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Ginger-Garlic Chicken

  1. Firstly it looks delish.
    But i have a few questions.
    One, will any rice wine work?
    Two, what exactly is coconut aminos??
    And can i use white granulated sugar or omit that all ?

    Also,i hav an invite for us all.it’s a #WeeklyChallenge for #FoodBlogger to encourage genuine blog appreciation (not just empty likes).
    Please visit http://wp.me/p6c369-10 to participate & know more.
    I hope we get together and do some pleasant reading n blogging!

    1. Thank you! It was really tasty. I used mirin, which adds a ton of flavor, and a little sweetness to the dish (which goes nicely with the ginger). If you used a different kind of rice wine you might need to add a bit more sugar to sweeten. Another alternative is to use a dry sherry, if you cant’ find mirin.

      Check out my write up about coconut aminos here: http://dinosaursanddeadlifts.com/2013/07/27/rich-froning-and-other-delicious-things/
      I use it as a substitute for soy sauce in most recipes.

      I wouldn’t omit the sugar altogether, it may impact the flavor of the dish, but I’m sure the white sugar would be just fine too. (I haven’t tried it, but experimenting with recipes is half the fun!)

      Thank you for the food blogger invite, I will check it out!

Leave a Reply

