breakfast · recipes

Patriotic Breakfast Parfait

Happy Fourth of July Weekend everyone!! I hope you are going to get out and enjoy the (hopefully) lovely weather. After a busy workweek, I am embracing this three day weekend with open arms. I had planned to sleep in today, but wound up waking around 8am anyway. I usually have an egg white omelete for breakfast, but decided to give myself a treat today.

I made this super simple patriotic breakfast parfait in about 8 minutes. The longest part is waiting for the oats to cook. If you prefer overnight oats, you could totally make those instead, which eliminates the cooking part!

IMG_6131

You will need:

  • 1/c cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 c. blueberries
  • 1/4 c. strawberries, chopped
  • 1/2 yogurt (I use greek, nonfat plain) I like greek because it has a lot of protein and not much sugar
  • 4 chocolate chips (optional: I put them in the bottom of my bowl before pouring the oats in, and it gave it a chocolate-y surprise at the end!)
  1. Prepare oats as directed. (I combine 1 cup water and 1/2 c. Quaker oats in pot, bring to boil, stir for about 2-3 minutes until cooked)
  2. If using chocolate chips, place in bottom of bowl with a few blueberries and a few pieces of strawberry.
  3. Top fruit with half of yogurt
  4. Pour oats in bowl over yogurt
  5. Top oats with yogurt, then top yogurt with remaining fruit!

Super easy, very delicious. Have a safe and happy Fourth of July everyone!

Are you a food blogger?? Do you enjoy reading recipes and checking out food blogs? If so, check this out!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Patriotic Breakfast Parfait

  1. thats my breakfast except the chocolate portions though.
    oats, curd and fruits..i add flax seeds just to make myself feel important. 🙂
    your bowl looks fetching.mine usually looks like i need more vitamins! :p

    also, i hope you are liking the #WeeklyChallenge for #FoodBloggers. Keep sharing the live of food & friends.
    If you want more, check foodbloggersunited.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

