rants · recipes · Uncategorized

Healthy-ish Banana Bread and Getting out of a Rut

Do you ever go full steam ahead with something, only to run into a speed bump in the road that throws you completely off course? This seems to happen to me a lot, unfortunately. Maybe its just my personality, but when I enjoy something, I tend to want to eat/sleep/breathe it. Like, last year I was powerlifting and following 5/3/1 programming until I hurt my back and could no longer deadlift or back squat. I’ve slowly re-gained my deadlift ability, but I cannot back squat nearly as much as I could before. Not the end of the world, but still annoying.

Recently, as many of you know by the constant stream of videos, I have been training and competing in Strongman. Its literally the best thing ever. I have learned how to do things that were seemingly unfathomable. For instance, pulling a truck, or carry my bodyweight in each hand. Both of which I have done with a surprising amount of ease. I have been training hard, working on increasing strength, improving technique, and gaining experience by signing up for a few shows as a novice competitor.

Then I hurt my f*cking shoulder.

…Stupid split jerk, I never want to do you ever again!

Sorry for pouting, but I needed to get that out. Ok, I’m better now. The past few weeks have been nothing but frustrating. I came in first place in my last Strongman show (The Great American Strongman) and I was eager to train for my next competition, Strongman Mania, which is coming up next weekend. Now I am nervous to put anything overhead or use my shoulder at all, in case it is my rotator cuff, for fear of making it worse. I took a few days off, went light, and worked on clean technique. I didn’t really get any good workouts in, and have been pretty much in a rut. Today I decided that this needs to change. I went for a 2 mile run this morning, and made plans to train lower body over the weekend. One of the positives things that came out of my slump was the loaf of banana bread I just ate. I wasn’t working out and having my post workout banana, therefore, they all turned brown. I wasn’t going to the gym so I had plenty of free time after work. What’s a girl to do with free time and brown bananas?? Make banana bread!

**DISCLAIMER** This is not Gulten-free. Gluten and I are dear friends. Sorry, paleo folks. Its a health-ed up version in order to feed my Weight Watchers following mother, and to ease my guilt of not working out and eating an entire loaf of banana bread. I wouldn’t call it healthy, but you could do a lot worse.

IMG_6158

Healthy-ish Banana Bread

  • 1 1/2 cup flour (wheat or white)
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2-3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup milk (I used regular, I’m sure almond would be fine)
  • 3 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup mix ins (I used blueberries, you could also use nuts or chocolate chips if you’re a rebel)
  1. Combine all dry ingredients and sugar in a large bowl
  2. Add in bananas, egg, and liquids, mix on medium until well combined
  3. Fold in mix-ins
  4. Bake in a greased 9x3x4 (the bread loaf size) pan on 350 for 50-60 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean!
  5. Sit on the couch and eat, instead of working out. Oh wait… no, don’t do that part, that was just me 🙂

Do you ever find yourself struggling to get back on track with your goals? What do you do to get out of a rut??

Happy Baking!

Nic

6 thoughts on “Healthy-ish Banana Bread and Getting out of a Rut

  1. So sorry to hear about your shoulder! Have you ever tried seeing an osteopath? I have back issues and my osteopath helps me so much I don’t know what I would do without him. If you are in the San Francisco area (which I don’t think you are?) I would be happy to give you his name, if you are interested. You should indulge in all the banana bread you want! Hope you start to feel better and heal soon.

Leave a Reply

