Uncategorized

Weekly Workouts 8/3-8/9, 8/10-8/16

I can’t believe today is the last day of August! And that I am just now posting my workouts for the entire month… I know its early, but did anyone else wake up this past week and notice a fall-feeling in the air? It was crisp and cool, and made me crave all fall things! Sorry I’ve been lacking in the recipes lately, but I have been working on a guest post for one of my favorite websites this past week, and it’ll totally be worth the wait!

Until then, here’s what I’ve been up to the past month…

  • Strongman Training – getting ready for the Harvest Queen on 9/5
  • Marilyn Manson/ Smashing Pumpkins concert – talk about a 90’s throwback. Strongman and I bought tickets spontaneously the day of. It was a great decision.
  • Went to a GRID match – (DC Brawlers v. Baltimore Anthem) If you haven’t heard of the GRID, I hadn’t until I went to this match, which was a blast. If you’re a fan of CrossFit, you need to check it out. Its basically team CrossFit style workouts, with teams of Gymnasts, Olympic Weightlifters, and Generalists.
  • Gave Blood- Strongman (the bf) and I went to the PA Renaissance Faire a few weeks ago, and we donated blood for free admission. I have never been able to successfully donate before, so I was pretty excited! Next time I will have to plan better around my training days though. I tried to work out the next morning and I felt awful.
  • Laurita Food Truck Festival – Always an awesome time… Strongman and I ate all things. I highly recommend checking out Five Sister’s Food Co. if you’re in the area.
  • Zac Brown Band Concert – SO MUCH FUN!! I love country shows, and they were fantastic

That’s about it, other than work.. but no one wants to hear about that! Here’s what I’ve been doing at the gym:

Monday 8/3 -Rest Day

Tuesday 8/4 – CF Toms River Team WOD:

  • 150 Air Squat
  • 200c. Air Dyne
  • 100 Sit ups
  • 200 Hand Release Push Ups
  • 100 Wall Ball
  • 200 Knees to Elbow
  • 100 Burpees to target
  • 200 Back Squats (105#)
  • 1 mi. run

Partnered with Nicole and Stephanie, completed in 48 minutes

Wednesday 8/5 – 1 mi. run

Push Press GRID using 130# max : 80lbs x10 reps, 90x 8, 100 x 6, 105 x 4, 110 x 2, 105 x 4, 90 x 8, 100 x 6, 90 x 10

Then I took the CF Toms River Core Class – hollow rocks, planka

Thursday 8/6 – 1 mi. run warm up

Front Squat work up to 1 rep max – 165lbs

Friday 8/7 – rest day

Saturday 8/8 – Strongman Training with Katies Ladies

  • Axle Bar clean and press – up to 110 lbs
  • Log clean and press up to 100 lbs
  • Stones 47 in height, worked up to 145lbs, then worked with 115lbs for technique

Sunday 8/9 – Strongman Training at Mongrel Garage

  • Strict Press GRID (based off of 100lbs max)
  • Sand Bag load to box – 2 sets of 4 reps, 100lbs
  • Farmers Carry: 115 wach hand, then 3 sets at 135
  • Yoke Walk – warm up empty, worked up to 390
  • Car Deadlift – 10 reps with 4-wheeler

Monday 8/10 –

  • biceps curls
  • front raise
  • lat raise
  • face pulls with band
  • tricep press down, with band
  • bench press
  • 12 minute EMOM: 3 DL (135#) 5 HR pushups, 5 Pull ups

Tuesday 8/11 – rest day

Wednesday 8/12 –

  • Front Squat GRID (based off of 165lbs max)
  • Hammer Curls
  • DB Row
  • Front Raise
  • Handstand Push ups
  • CF Toms River Core Class (glute bridges, hollow rocks, sit ups, GHD back extensions, L sit hang, dragon flag attempts)

Thursday 8/13 – Rest Day

Friday 8/14 – rest day

Saturday 8/15 –  Rest Day – went to Ren. Faire

Sunday 8/16 –  Day after giving blood, tried to lift things, thought I was going to die. Ran a slow, easy mile and tried not to cry over how weak I felt. (Must have been the lack of blood, I was being a big baby.)

I hope you all had a lovely August…feel free to share what you have been up to in the comments, I would love to hear from you. Are you looking forward to September and the fast approaching fall? I know I am hoping for a few weeks of locals summer here at the shore before the fall weather kicks in!

Leave a comment