Uncategorized

5 Dieting Essentials to Drastically Improve your Meal Preparation

Guys, I’m frustrated this week. I have been SO GOOD and the scale is not moving. I even went to a BBQ where they were serving pulled pork AND sausage and peppers (two of my favorite dishes) and I resisted, eating only from the containers of chicken breast, veggies, and rice topped with hot sauce that I packed for the day. I skipped another BBQ because I only have so much will-power, and I didn’t want to overdo it and cave in due to too much temptation. I’m trying to stay positive and focused, but a part of me wants to say screw it, I’ll just go up a weight class.

Weekly check in: 122.5 – up from last week!

Instead of focusing on the negatives like missing out on social events, I am trying really hard to think about the positive things that I am experiencing throughout this journey. I have discovered new foods and recipes that I really like, and I have had the pleasure of sharing my experiences with others, networking, and making new friends.

here are five things that I could not have survived this RP cut without…

  1. A Spiralizer– I’m Italian, so you can bet that nothing fills my belly with happiness like a big bowl of pasta. I’m cutting down on the amount of carbohydrates I am consuming right now, so I have been using the Vegetti to spiralize zucchini into “zoodles” and mixing them into my bowl of pasta. Its also a great way to get extra veggies in your diet, which we could all use.
  2. Hydroflask– My job requires a lot of field work, so in addition to packing all of my meals in a cooler, I have been relying in my hydroflask to keep my water cold throughout the day. The stainless steel bottle is vacuum insulated to keep beverages hot or cold, all day long.
  3. Riced Cauliflower– Cauliflower has literally rocked my world during this cut. If you didn’t see last week’s post, I added cauliflower to my oatmeal for a life-changing breakfast. Also, if you don’t feel like making your own, Trader Joe’s sells both frozen and fresh bags of it, so prepare for your meal prep world to be rocked.  I mix it in with rice, but it tastes so good that on my low carb days I may cut out the rice altogether.
  4. La Croix Seltzer – So far I’ve tried mango and orange. I’ve heard they’re all delicious and a great alternative when you’re tired of drinking water all day. I even drink them at parties to distract me from drinking (if you are consuming alcohol, I bet they’d be a great mixer!) I’ve seen them at Target and actually got a big case at The Christmas Tree Shoppe for $4.99.
  5. This Recipe: Sriracha-Lime Chicken– I didn’t actually make the salad or the dressing in the recipe, I just chopped chicken breast up into pieces, put the pieces in a bag with sriracha, lime, salt and pepper, left it in the fridge while I went to work, then threw it in a skillet for dinner that night. It was SO GOOD!!! I will someday try the rest of the recipe, but I’m more of a throw a bunch of meat and vegetables into a bowl and then shove them into my face- type person, especially after working all day.

What products do you depend on to make your meal preparation a success?

Happy lifting,

Nicole

Leave a comment