Uncategorized

What I Ate/Cauli-Oats Recipe

Week 2 check in! Weighed in at 121.9lbs today, down 4.1lbs in 2 weeks.

So far I am feeling really good while following my RP plan. This week the meal prep was easier because I already established a meal plan for the week, and knew exactly what to buy and prepare. Well, let me rephrase, the meal prep was more organized, not easier. It will never be easy to prepare a weeks worth of food for two strongman athletes.

I’ve been sticking to the same meals every day for breakfast and lunches (meals 1, 2, and 3) and then changing it up for dinner. I don’t mind eating the same foods for breakfast and lunch because I am going to/at work and I like routine. For breakfast every morning I’ve been having and omelette with egg whites and veggies (seasoned with pepper) and my new favorite, cauli-oats! (recipe below). They are super easy and make my tiny serving of oatmeal much more fluffy and filling.

For lunch, I’ve been rotating between chicken and turkey with rice and either green beans, broccoli, or asparagus. I usually top all of it with mustard, salsa, or hot sauce. Here’s a look at my meal prep and a few lunches this week.

I’d have to say, the highlight of my meal prep this week has been the discovery of cauliflower oats, which has been a great way to sneak in extra veggies, and make me feel like I’m eating a giant bowl of oatmeal, instead of a measly 1/4c.  If you’re an oatmeal lover like me, you need to try this recipe.

Easy Cauliflower Oatmeal

IMG_9428

  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/4 c. oatmeal
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen cauliflower
  • cinnamon
  • toppings of your choice (nuts, fruit, peanut butter, milk, whatever fits your macros!)
  1. cook cauliflower. I take 1 cup of frozen whole cauliflower, microwave for 3 minutes.
  2. allow to cool for a minute, then pulse cauliflower in food processor (I use the NutriBullet) until course, rice-like consistency.
  3. boil water in a saucepan, add oats.
  4. once oats are cooked, lower heat and stir in cauliflower until mixed.
  5. add toppings and enjoy!

I personally make mine with cinnamon and a few blueberries, but if you don’t like the taste of plain oatmeal, feel free to add additional toppings. You could also add eggwhites or a scoop of protein powder in order to boost the protein content (I’d add these when you are stirring in your cauliflower)

What’s your favorite RP/macros friendly breakfast? How do you sneak in extra veggies?

Enjoy!

One thought on “What I Ate/Cauli-Oats Recipe

Leave a comment